Believe the answer is yes. It must be put on before the round begins. However there are some things to be aware of.
The tape cannot be removed, altered or added to. If it falls off during play it can be added back to the same spot as it was. If the old tape does not stick (gotta give it an honest effort to get it back on) you can grab a new piece of the same size and put it in the same place. If it falls off, won’t stick and you have no new tape you can still use your club.
If the tape gets altered/damaged not during normal play, the club can’t be used.
That is what I understand on the rule