- July 27, 2017 at 5:45 pm #38914
Forgive me if this has already been brought up- tried a quick look through other posts and finding nothing I ask…
I have received word that the Arccos system has been approved for tournament play by the USGA. Can this be confirmed by the rules committee for the WAHC? Am also told the only restriction is you cannot look back at past holes during your round. Will not use it if there is a question but the GPS portion of the app does make front/middle/back yardage just like the sky caddie does and I use that often. Thanks for clearing this up.July 28, 2017 at 8:15 am #38917Scott T. – World AmKeymaster
Roy – There is a “360” and a “Restricted” app. It has to be the restricted app version to be used during tournament play.July 28, 2017 at 10:45 am #38920
Thanks Scott- they discontinued the “Restricted” app. Here is the reply I received when asking why I couldn’t find it in the app store-
“We have just done away with the restricted app because we have gotten USGA approval for use in tournament play. The Arccos 360 app is now tournament legal! There is one restriction, and this is to go back and review previous played holes during the tournament round would result in a 1 stroke penalty. Other than that you are free to play away!”
After this exchange with Arccos I started this thread. If WAHC says no way, then I have my answer. Thanks again- only 27 days till we return to beautiful Myrtle Beach!July 28, 2017 at 2:13 pm #38925Bob NewmanParticipant
This came up at the SAge Vallley Jr. Inviatational Tournament this past April when a player was just “tagging” his shots(not using app or iphone inway) and the Head official there got clarification from the USGA and the tagging nor the insert on the grip were illegal since nothing was going to be reviewed during the round. That being said, it is still the WA that has the final say in this issue.
BUT keep this in mind or make a copy of Scott comment to have on the course with you in case it comes up. JMOJuly 31, 2017 at 5:19 pm #38979
Thanks Bob- better safe than sorry I will save myself the headache and just remove the sensors and not use the GPS during the tournament. I can always ask my partners for a yardage if needed. Looking forward to seeing the south again.August 1, 2017 at 10:53 am #39002Ken DelaneyParticipant
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.