Home Forums The World Am Bulletin Board golf balls

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
  • #39075
    Darrell Mattingly

    Can you play Prov1 practice balls in the worldam

    Ryan Stratulate

    Can’t see why not. They are usually just comforming balls that are just stamped practice.

    Jon Craig

    Copied this right from the USGA website
    Status of “X-Out” and “Practice” Balls

    Q. May I use an “x-out” ball or a ball stamped with “Practice” to play a round of golf?

    A. Our present policy provides that if the List of Conforming Golf Balls or the One Ball Condition is in effect, a practice or logo ball may be used provided the other markings on the ball (i.e., pole and seam) correspond exactly to a ball listing on the current List of Conforming Golf Balls. Balls labeled with “PRACTICE” or a circled “P”, are essentially treated as a logo ball (such as a Mickey Mouse emblem). A player’s name stamped on the ball is also acceptable. However, the original ball markings (i.e., pole and seam markings) must be readable in order for a Rules Official to determine whether that ball is on the List of Conforming Golf Balls. X-Out balls are not permitted to be used in any competition in which the List of Conforming Golf Balls or the One Ball Condition is in effect. However, if neither of these Conditions are in effect, X-Out balls may be used because all balls are presumed to conform unless they have been tested and found not to conform or are obviously non-conforming (e.g., too small or too heavy). (See Decisions 5-1/4).

    Jason CORUM

    I bought a bunch a couple of years ago and sent an email to worldam. They said it was fine.

    Bill Majercin

    They get lost and unable to find like the expensive balls.
    Smart choice

    Wayne Rhodes

    Thanks, Jon, for posting the relevant and accurate info. As I read it, this means that PRACTICE balls are always OK. X-OUTS are OK unless the competition is playing either the one-ball rule or restricts balls to those on the Conforming list. I know the World Am does NOT play the one-ball rule. I’m not sure if we require balls to be used to be on the Conforming list.

    Rick Kimbrell

    In years past (have to admit have not read them carefully in the past couple), balls and clubs had to be conforming/legal. Thus, X-Outs would/were not be permitted. I want to say I remember hearing this gone over before the rounds by the pro (but I am old and who knows what I remember these days). The one-ball rule is definitely not in effect.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Call Us at 1-800-833-8798

HTML Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com