Home Forums The World Am Bulletin Board What to Learn from my DQ

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #46348
    Tom Jorjorian
    Participant

    What to Learn from my DQ!!

    I was Disqualified for a wrong score on a hole during my second round of the 2018 World Am.
    The situation: after completion of the round I sat in my cart behind the other cart. My scorer read my 18 numbers to me. They were correct along with the totals. So I signed the card and turned it in. What I didn’t know was that the scores were read to me from a course scorecard before being transferred to the official card. During the transference, the scorer f’d up one number = disqualification!!
    Adding insult to injury, the scorer never apologized for his part in my DQ, but instead spent the next two days going to others in our flight talking smack about me and accusing me of cheating.

    Learn the following:
    (1) Double and triple check each score after you get the card in your hand. Verbal acknowledgement is not enough. Never ASS-U-ME the numbers are correct.
    (2) Scores should be entered onto the official card before teeing off the next hole. Scoring on a course scorecard should only be used as a double check and not the primary method. I guarantee that at least a handful of players get DQ’d every year because of bad scoring practices.
    (3) NEVER trust a player from Kentucky with numbers. If I could prove he screwed me over on purpose, I’d try to get him banned from the tournament. This is the second (attempted) time a scorer from Kentucky f’d up my card (caught it the first time). However, I have made a yearly friend from Kentucky for the last decade, so maybe the universe is trying to balance out.

    #46349
    Bob Newman
    Participant

    I always require my marker use the official scorecard. Transferring leads to mistakes. Only check the hole by hole score and match it to your strip you tear off from the official card of the opponent you are the marker. I draw a line thru the total and let the committee do the math. You are only responsible for the hole by hole score. I am also looking directly at my marker when doing this. It very easy to make unintentional mistakes so be very thorough on this. I also record my scores in sharpie so if someone wants to alter, it is difficult. All scores must be legible, if erasers are used just make sure it remains legible

    #46353

    The only time I do not use the official score card is if its raining constantly and you score on a local card to preserve the condition of the card you will be submitting. Then once the scores are transfered at the end of the round IN THE CLUB HOUSE you double check the hole by hole score, your name, hcp, date before signing and always, always submit your card yourself.

    Had an instance a few years back where one person was to hand in all four cards. Went into club house, went to bathroom and on coming out got into a conversation with an old buddy and totally forgot the cars were still in his back pocket until he got back to his motel room. OOPS. He sincerely apologized for the next two days but the fact remained that the entire group was DQ

    #46367
    Mark Hancock
    Participant

    At every round, every year, someone always wants to keep the scores on a separate scorecard and transfer the scores over to the tournament cards after the round. I have always refused to be a part of this as I am quite capable of marking my playing partner’s score correctly on the tournament card. If I do make a mistake, I always have the eraser and can change my work. I have never gotten the whole scoring on a card separate than the official tournament card and I don’t play in any other tournaments where this is a common practice.

    The best advice I can give to anyone about scorecards, is ALWAYS turn in your own scorecard and hand over the card that you scored to the player you scored. Do not rely on anyone else to turn in your card.

    #46377
    Rick Kimbrell
    Participant

    I play in a lot of tournaments every year and I see people keeping score on the course scorecard instead of the official scorecard all the time. I also know of more than one DQ because of transposition of numbers when filling out official card.
    I do not do it. I keep score for whomever on the official card and record mine on the bottom. Just the way I will do it. I am ok with people keeping scores on a course card IN ADDITION to the official card if they want to just to verify everyone’s scores. But, don’t only do it and then copy scores over. Leads to mistakes.

    #46380
    Mark Hancock
    Participant

    Hey, Rick: I’ll you a beer on Sunday or Monday night.

    The only card that matters is the Official Scorecard. That’s all that I focus on for the player that I am scoring and for the card that I am turning into the official at the end of the round. Everything else is just chatter.

    #46389
    Rick Kimbrell
    Participant

    Hey Mark, let’s do it Monday night. I am not a beer drinker…Scotch yes or Crown yes…but not beer. So whiskey is free on Monday night. Don’t want you to have to pay for my habit. Hope to see you at CC. And hope you have a great Monday round.
    But…baring anything weird, me and my group will be holding court Sunday evening. We are easy to spot…well lubricated and bunch of folks at our table/spot outside. Look us up.
    See you in MB.

    #46425
    ROBERT WEBER
    Participant

    This will be my 19 time to play in the World Am. I have always insisted that we all keep everyones score on the course score card. At the turn we all check to see if we all agree on everyones score. If we don’t it is not hard it remember the correct score for the hole. Then we all meet in the club house and fill out the offical score cards. We then check the cards and sign them. I always turn my card in myself. In 19 years I have never had a problem.

    #46428
    Rick Kimbrell
    Participant

    Robert Weber…you have been lucky then. I play in 2 tournament leagues which amounts, for me, to about 70 tournament rounds every year. Just yesterday, we had someone DQd because of screwing up the scores copying them from the course card to the official scorecard. It happens way way too often, probably 10 or more of those tournaments I play in every year. Since I work probably 50 of those tournaments each year, I see it first hand doing the scoring. To each his own…but if you are in my 4some you can do it however you want but the guy whose card I am responsible for…I will be keeping his score on the official card and recording my own score on the tear off bottom. I really would prefer whoever is keeping mine to do the same. I don’t care how many in the group keep scores on a course scorecard. Just not a fan of not keeping the official card on a hole by hole basis as we play.

    #46434
    Bob Newman
    Participant

    I have had one opponent tell me he would not keep my official card as we played and I actually had to get someone else to be my Marker. You are suppose to know what the person you are keeping score for makes on each hole and you can not do this if y’all are not taking at the end of each hole. I just think waiting till the end and then transferring numbers leads to mistakes. I have seen numerous Junior Events where they are attempting to re-create the round and it is a mess. I know what I make on a hole and I know what who I am a Marker for makes on a hole but do not really pay attention to the other 2.

    #46437
    Rick Murgittroyd
    Participant

    My experience has been a bit different. We have caught several mistakes, over the years, reading back from a scorecard onto the WA card. But everyone’s a little different.

    #46439
    Rick Kimbrell
    Participant

    Bob, I am pretty much the same way. Honestly playing the WA, the only times I have really paid a lot of attention to what the 2 guys who I am not keeping score for have has been on the last day and if I was in one of the lead groups. The general phrase walking off the green is “What did everybody have?” At that point, if one of the scores does not sound right then you get out of the way and replay the hole with the guy to see if he is right.
    First of all, I am going to keep my own score on the tear off bottom of the scorecard I am scoring. I want to resolve any scoring issues on my card before we get to the parking lot to put up our clubs. Some people do not like doing it but it is perfectly legal to switch cards within your own cart. So you and whomever you are riding with can easily keep each others scores. You only have to switch cards with someone, not switch cards and carts. Waiting till you get to the clubhouse…I don’t know how many times I have seen guys who played poorly throw their clubs in the trunk, just sign whatever and drive off saying “turn my card in”. I have also seen official scorecards go missing because they were not in the players own hands before getting to the clubhouse. To each his own but I want my card scored, verified, signed and in my hands to turn in by the time I get to my rent car to put up my clubs. Then I know mine is right and that it got turned in because I turn it in myself. Different topic but anyone who does not turn in their own card is only asking for trouble/DQ.

    #46445
    Tommy Briggs
    Blocked

    I also keep my scores on the bottom tear off and after we have verified our cards and signed them, I still verify my scores comparing the tear off to the official scorecard.

    #46446
    Bob Newman
    Participant

    I would actually like to see us have to sit down with the group to go over the score card at a table in front of a committee member so all issues could be discussed but I know that will never happen. you would be surprised at the number of times when an issue comes up at the scoring table that has not been mentioned on the course when the question is asked of the group “were their any rules issues that you would like to discuss”. But it is much easier on the host course to simply have one person receiving the cards and everyone running in and just dropping the cards because you have to get to the skins guy.

    #46455
    Rick Kimbrell
    Participant

    I hear you Bob. It would probably save a lot of those trips to Room whatever at the Convention Center to discuss some infraction/screw up/etc. 🙂

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Call Us at 1-800-833-8798

HTML Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com