- August 4, 2019 at 7:10 am #46462Bob NewmanParticipant
Another thing on scorecard-how many of you have played with someone is only wanting to verify the total score? The first thing I do is put an X in block where side total and gross goes. You as a player are only responsible for hole by hole score, committee is responsible for total. Imagine if I flip flopped a par 5 & par 3 score. Total would be the same but hole scores would not. Have not personally witnessed this but it did happen to a guy I know about 15 years ago in WA. rules also state scores must be clearly legible, nothing about initialing changes, and besides whose initials. That is really a pet peeve of mine. I always score with a sharpie so the idea of someone changing a score is not even possible.August 4, 2019 at 8:20 am #46465Rick MurgittroydParticipant
I was leading the flight a few years ago and got paired with the guy in second. We were at True Blue and it seemed these two, its when we played in threesomes,were bent on messing with me. It was a real fun round. I called him on the second hole, a par five, for not counting his strokes. He took four to get out of a bunker and should have had a ten, but wanted to take an 8. After that, I counted his every swing.
After the found was over, I had beat him by three strokes. Then, I forgot to turn my card in, but that’s another story. (I was later told by a committee member I could have brought it to them and they may have allowed it).
Any way, that was round three. When I saw the posted scores, he was two strokes better than what he turned in. I went directly to the scoring table at the 19th hole, manned by a committee member, and asked him to pull the card. He did, and the player had erased his score on another hole and replaced it. It was obvious. The response was do you REALLY want to pursue this? It’s going to be trouble for everyone. I told him heck yes. This guy was cheating and wan him DQed. He told me I’d have to find the guy and send him over to the table to start action. I, as you might imagine, upset with how that went. Oddly enough, I found him later, confronted him, and told him the committee wanted to speak to him. He took off like a scared rabbit. I went back over to the table, the man said the cheater never came to the table. I asked him how he was going to proceed, he shrugged and told me he’d check it out but don’t hold my breath. He eventually won the flight and I’ve been gone four four years. I was greatly disappointed in the way the older fella at the table handled this and filed a complaint later that went nowhere. All that to say, we WILL be using ink on the score cards this year. 🙂August 4, 2019 at 7:19 pm #46467Rick KimbrellParticipant
That is truly interesting story Rick. I would be beating Scott T’s (WA) door down. In year’s past, I have actually be summoned over the PA system at the CC to come and verify an allegation that was levied against a player who was in my group that day.August 5, 2019 at 4:42 pm #46490Rick MurgittroydParticipant
I wish I would have been summoned! 🙂
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.